I deleted my account, but now I want to access it again.
If you try to log in or sign up with a deleted account, you will receive an error message:
If you receive this error message when trying to log in or create an account, it means the account associated with the email address you are trying to use has been deleted:
This may be because you deleted your account in ChatGPT, or deleted it by submitting your email to OpenAI's privacy center.
If you previously deleted an OpenAI account, OpenAI does not support creating a new account with the same email or reactivating the old account.
When you delete your account yourself in ChatGPT or OpenAI's privacy center, this should include canceling any active Plus subscription. In addition, deactivated/deleted accounts are unrecoverable.
Next steps
You can still sign up for a new account by using a different email address. If you do not have an alternative email address, try using a so-called email subaddress. For example, instead of jane@example.com, try using jane+alt@example.com. Depending on your email provider, messages sent to this address should still go to the same inbox (email providers usually ignore what comes after the +), but OpenAI will treat this email as a new account.
If you have trouble creating a new account, please contact the support team for help. |