Deleted chats will be forcefully deleted from OpenAI’s systems within 30 days, unless they have previously been de-identified and disassociated from your account, or OpenAI must retain them for safety or legal reasons.
Once chat history is deleted, it cannot be recovered. If you want to delete a chat so that it no longer appears in chat history but keep it in your account, you should use the archive feature.
Archived chats are retained just like unarchived chats. Archiving a chat only removes it from the chat history sidebar. You can find and manage archived chats in ChatGPT settings.
Delete history
You can delete individual chats one by one from your chat history by clicking the three horizontal dots and then clicking “Delete chat” in the menu that appears:
Archive history
You can view archived chats in “Settings”:
Manage archived chats
Click “Manage” to view all archived chats, where you can keep each chat archived, unarchive it, or delete the chat:
|